2007 Sydney to Hobart – “spectate-o-run(?)” at the start

For the start of the Sydney to Hobart race this year I thought I’d see if I could catch the gun near the start line at Nielsen Park, then run around South Head and follow them as they went down the coast for a bit.

Fat chance.

I did manage to see the start and get to The Gap at Watsons Bay while the leaders were still in sight. Lesson learned: Super Maxis go really fast in a favourable 15 knots north-easterly with massive spinnakers up.

Here’s a panorama I shot from Christison Park…

Click to view enlarged version

…and the route I took trying to keep up…

Click to view route on MapMyRun.com

For race coverage including a live yacht tracker, check out http://rolexsydneyhobart.com

To see some other pics from boxing day, check out my set on Flickr…

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22187126@N02/2139982253/in/set-72157603558640195/

Leave a Reply

